Caulfield Stakes News

Trainer Nigel Blackiston remains confident that stable star Suavito can be competitive over 2000m; underlining a race like the 2016 Caulfield Stakes in October as a possible target for the mare during the forthcoming Spring Carnival. Suavito has been a strong and consistent performer throughout her entire racing career to…

Caulfield Stakes

The 2015 Caulfield Stakes is one of the Melbourne top Group 1 features taking place at Caulfield Racecourse in October each year.

Formerly registered as the Yalumba Stakes due to sponsorship, the Caulfield Stakes was inaugurated in 1886 and is held on Caulfield Guineas Day along with the Group 1 Caulfield Guineas (1600m), Group 1 Thousand Guineas (1600m) and Group 1 Toorak Handicap (1600m).

Caulfield Stakes Special Offer:
Get a $500 Bonus Bet* from

Caulfield Guineas Day is a key spring carnival date as it kicks off the three-day Caulfield Carnival which culminates with Caulfield Cup Day.

Caulfield Stakes prize money totals $400,000 and the race is run over 2000 metres under weight-for-age conditions.

The 2015 Caulfield Stakes will take place on Saturday October 10, 2015.

There are ten black-type events on the Caulfield Guineas Day program. These include:

Upcoming Races

Group 1

The Goodwood





Group 1

Doomben Cup




3YO & Up WFA

Group 1

Queensland Oaks


Eagle Farm



Group 1

Queensland Derby


Eagle Farm



Group 1

Stradbroke Handicap


Eagle Farm



Group 1

The TJ Smith


Eagle Farm



Caulfield Stakes Prize Money

Racing Victoria has the Caulfield Stakes prize money currently set at $400,000.

The breakdown of the Caulfield Stakes purse is as follows:

Caulfield Stakes Winner (1st): $240,000

2nd: $72,000

3rd: $36,000

4th: $18,000

5th: $10,000

6th – 8th: $8,000

Caulfield Stakes Betting Guide

Positioned on a key Melbourne Spring Carnival race meeting and holding elite level status, the Caulfield Stakes is an excellent event to enjoy a bet on at a trusted online bookmaker such as

Horses lining up in the Caulfield Stakes field are often having their final preparatory run before contesting the richest weight-for-age race in Australia, the $3 million Group 1 2015 Cox Plate (2040m) which runs at Moonee Valley a fortnight later.

Watching for the better performing gallopers in the Caulfield Stakes results is often a top indicator for Cox Plate betting.

Champion thoroughbreds throughout history to win the Caulfield Yalumba Stakes – Cox Plate double include Rising Fast (1954), Kingston Town (1981 & 1982), Bonecrusher (1986), Might And Power (1998), Northerly (2001) and So You Think (2010).

Other lead-up races to the Caulfield Stakes include the Group 1 Underwood Stakes (1800m) at Caulfield, the Group 2 Dato’ Tan Chin Nam Stakes (1600m) at Moonee Valley and the Group 1 Memsie Stakes (1400m) in August. And then there’s the 2015 Melbourne Cup ready to kick off in November 2015.